2009-10 Western Front and Thai-Burma Railway

Thai-Burma-railwayThe 2009-10 Premier's Spirit of ANZAC Prize winners travelled on a study tour to the Thai-Burma Railway and the Western Front in March and April 2010.

The students awarded the Premier's Spirit of ANZAC Prize were:

  • Samantha Alexander, Mercy College, Camperdown
  • Edward Buijs, Overnewton Anglican College, Taylors Lakes
  • Violet Hamence-Davies, Academy of Mary Immaculate, North Fitzroy
  • Darcy McMahon, Doncaster Secondary College, Doncaster
  • Jason Smeaton, Rochester Secondary College, Rochester
  • Mckye Turner, Tallangatta Secondary College, Tallangatta
  • Jennifer van Veldhuisen, St Brigid's College, Horsham
  • Mitchell de Vries, Marian College, Myrtleford
  • Tristin Walker, Drouin Secondary College, Drouin
  • Olivia Wells, Loreto Mandeville Hall, Toorak

The Member for Macedon, Ms Joanne Duncan MP, led the study tour group which included two teacher chaperones, Margaret Pagone and John Cavanagh, and two veterans, Colonel Jan McCarthy ARRC (Retd) and Air Vice-Marshal Chris Spence AO (Retd).

Professor Bruce Scates, Chair of History and Australian Studies at Monash University, travelled with the group to provide an authoritative account of the ANZAC's campaigns in France and Belgium.

Students recorded their experiences and photos in regular blog entries.

Last updated on Wednesday, 30 August 2017