2006-07 Turkey, France, Belgium and the UK

2007-gallipoli-DSC 7725-In the 2006 competition, ten students were selected to travel on the 2007 Study Tour to Turkey, France, Belgium and the United Kingdom in April 2007.

The following students were announced by the Premier on 16 February 2007:

  • Jarrod Cahir, Viewbank College
  • Brendan Champness, Kaniva College
  • Kayla Corradi, Clonard College
  • Annie Ferguson, Lavalla College
  • Caelli Greenbank, Mount Clear College
  • Sarah Hudspeth Stevenson, Braemar College
  • Jonathan Mackojc, Hawthorn Secondary College
  • Kelly McConnell, Overnewton Anglican College
  • Finley Roberts, Goulburn Valley Grammar
  • Enya Widdicombe, Star of the Sea College

The 2007 Study Tour was accompanied by:

  • Major Jim Barry, Chair of the Central Selection Panel
  • Mr John Coulson, Project Coordinator
  • Mrs Pam Cupper, Horsham College
  • Mr James MacIsaac, Department of Planning and Community Development
  • Mr Tony Robinson, Parliamentary Secretary assisting the Premier as Minister for Veterans' Affairs (Tour Leader)
  • Mr Frank Vetere, Lalor Secondary College
  • Mr Rob Webster, Senior Vice President, RSL Victorian Branch

Here are some of the students' highlights of the 2007 Spirit of ANZAC Prize:

"I stood on the shore of ANZAC Cove and I was at home. It wasn't a homecoming of familiar smells, a mother's warmth and a cosy bed: it was much different. You could feel the presence of the men who fought there, who died there." - Annie Ferguson

"The best thing about Gallipoli for me was climbing the hill through the bushes and rough terrain, just as the soldiers had done many years ago. That really brings to life what they had to live through." - Kelly McConnell

"Arriving back in Australia from the tour I feel I have grown as a person. The trip has unleashed a confidence in me that was hidden before. This has allowed me to participate in a radio interview, speak at my whole school assembly and give a presentation to my primary school." - Sarah Hudspeth Stevenson

Last updated on Wednesday, 30 August 2017