Community Resilience Unit

Our role

In May 2015 the Hon Daniel Andrews MP, Premier of Victoria, established the Social Cohesion and Community Resilience Taskforce to adopt a whole-of-government and whole-of-community evidence-based approach to address social cohesion, community resilience, marginalisation and to prevent violent extremism.

The Community Resilience Unit has been formed to support the Taskforce.

For further information about any of the information on this page, please email the Community Resilience Unit at or call on 03 7017 8101

Taskforce membership

The Taskforce is chaired by the Hon James Merlino MP, Deputy Premier of Victoria and Minister for Education.   

Members of the Taskforce include:

The Chief Resilience Officer

Anna Parle is Victoria's Chief Resilience Officer and leads the Community Resilience Unit and supports the work of the Social Cohesion and Community Resilience Ministerial Taskforce.

Strategic Framework

The Strategic Framework to Strengthen Victoria's Social Cohesion and the Resilience of its Communities (the Framework) outlines:

1. Why strengthening social cohesion and building community resilience are important

2. Key principles for working together

3. High-level objectives, priority themes, activities and indicators.

The Framework recognises that Government cannot do this work alone.  It is intended to help all stakeholders – individuals, community organisations, government agencies, businesses, service providers, academics and others - to work together in new ways, and better connect and align our collective efforts.

The Framework has been developed with extensive input from a broad range of stakeholders and will be reviewed annually.  

Read more:

For information contact:

Community Resilience Unit on 03 7017 8101 or

Research Institute on Social Cohesion

Find out more about the Research Institute on Social Cohesion including information on RIOSC membership and the Social Cohesion Research Grants program.

Last updated on Wednesday, 23 May 2018